cancel
Showing results for 
Show  only  | Search instead for 
Did you mean: 

5G Signal near New Cross Station London is horrible

4elvin
Valued Contributor
Valued Contributor

I recently just switch to EE's unlimited 5G mobile phone plan, because I have heard good things from multiple sources, and I don't want to use my shared house's slow wifi while it's being used by many tenants at the same time. One of your staff guaranteed the plan I currently use should be more than enought for me need. I am a software engineer and a somewhat heavy gamer. I live somewhere close to New Cross Overground Station, and after a few days of constant speedtesting, swapping SIM across mobile phones, the result is outrageously unacceptable for the price £38 I'm paying. At times the download speed drops below 3Mbps, but getting relatively high upload speed for some strange reason.

The following results are grabbed from multiple 5G phones, including iPhone 13 Pro, Pixel 5, & Pixel 6 Pro. So it is pretty sure it's not a single device's issue. On iPhone I have set the celluar network to be '5G On' and 'Allow More Data On 5G', and on both Pixel phones I have already turned off Adaptive Charging & Adaptive Connectivity.

I have good speed sometimes exceeding 600Mbps while I commute back to my office, but that doesn't benefit me at all because I need it while I'm at home. And even with good reception (3 bars to full bars) and within <50ms delay, the download speed is still abyssmal. Is there an issue with the nearest tower in the area? I was on giffgaff before switching, delay was worse but it could sometime get over 80Mbps download for me. But now I can barely watch 1080p video on YouTube without frequent buffering. I really want to stay with EE, because the delay is minimal and I can maintain good connection while I'm gaming. But the speed is really putting me off. 
1.jpg2.png3.jpgIMG_5096.jpg

30 REPLIES 30
Katie_B
EE Community Support Team

Good afternoon @4elvin