cancel
Showing results for 
Show  only  | Search instead for 
Did you mean: 

Would external antenna increase upload speed on 4G router?

Tony219
Investigator
Investigator

I’ve recently moved to a rural location and signed up for a 4G router. I’m getting download speeds of around 30mbs which is tolerable but upload speeds of 3 to 4 mbs which is dismal.

Is this a reception issue or just a limitation of the system? 

If it’s reception would speeds be improved by an roof mounted external antenna? What type are most effective? Omni or directional? Does signal boosting make a difference? Is mimo important? The router has two antenna connections, are there versions with 4 and would that help? What brands are recommended? Is the EE antenna any good?

I’m new to all this and any advice would be a great help. Many thanks.

29 REPLIES 29

Thanks. This takes me to the same "20 min" queue as Leanne's number above. I don't think there's any real prospect of talking to anyone from Ted support today.

Leanne_T
EE Community Support Team

Hi @Tony219 

Thanks for coming back to us. 

Please try us again selecting mobile queries, when you have the chance and the team will certainly take a look into this for you. 

Leanne.

bristolian
EE Community Star
EE Community Star

A good test would be to try an EE phone in the same location, subject to hardware differences they use the same network signal.

Increasing antenna height will improve radio conditions - as to whether that improves your speed is something you may potentially only find out by trying. Speeds are largely dictated by the available spectrum on the sites you are connecting to - but improving the quality of the RX can never do any harm.

MIMO is widely used on EE's network.

Thanks for this.

Yes I have wondered if RX is the limiting factor or if it's just inherent in the system.

Perhaps the question I should be asking is what upload speeds can be achieved via an EE 4G router in optimal conditions?

JohnnySegway