cancel
Showing results for 
Show  only  | Search instead for 
Did you mean: 

Loss of Internet at Weekends in the Evening

Marus
Valued Contributor
Valued Contributor

I have the Hub Pro 7 with a 1.6Gbs connection, I have been a customer for over 2 years with no connection problems.
The last couple of weekends, 2 or 3 times in the evening, my Hub goes Flashing Green > Then Solid Orange > Then solid green again.
This lasts for only around 30 seconds.

Checking the ONT when this happens, I see:
POWER = On
LOS = Off
PON = ON
LAN = On

So as I understand it the ONT is still getting the signal through the fibre connection and it is the Hub itself that is losing the connection.
But why has this only been during the last few weekends, if it was a faulty Hub for example why this weekend pattern?
I work from home and Mon-Fri day/evening I have no issues

Thanks in advance for any help and advice!

5 REPLIES 5
XRaySpeX
EE Community Star
EE Community Star

If it is a neighbourhood issue, you could consult Check service in your area  to see if any faults are being attended to in your local area. You may also Report a Problem there.

Have you reported your problem with your BB to EE? They can't do anything about it until you do. Text HELP to 66033 to get EE to test the line & see what needs doing.

If you think I helped please feel free to hit the "Thumbs Up" button below.

To phone EE CS: Dial Freephone +44 800 079 8586 - Option 1 for Home Broadband & Home Phone or Option 2 for Mobile Phone & Mobile Broadband

ISPs: 1999: Freeserve 48K Dial-Up > 2005: Wanadoo 1 Meg BB > 2007: Orange 2 Meg BB > 2008: Orange 8 Meg LLU > 2010: Orange 16 Meg LLU > 2011: Orange 20 Meg WBC > 2014: EE 20 Meg WBC > 2020: EE 40 Meg FTTC > 2022:EE 80 Meg FTTC SoGEA > 2025 EE 150 Meg FTTP
Marus
Valued Contributor
Valued Contributor

A Technician came out and pressed reset on the ONT, it worked for a while but now the same issue is starting again.

The next thing suggested is a factory reset of the router, I do have a question before doing this.
In the app I have about 8 groups setup and each group has 3-4 devices in it (Big busy family), all with a friendly name to help identify them.
I did choose to backup the router when I installed the app, but is there a way to force a backup now?
Or is this all contained in the app itself?
Either way, how would I restore everything I have setup in the groups after factory reset?

Thank you in advance.

@Marus Why not just report it again to EE CS or text HELP to 66033 for a diagnostic check through the EE system.

Have no idea what the app did backup account wise, but if it is no longer an available option then the DV side off the Pro hub is the only feature available for Backup/Restore. Full Factory reset you will just have to let all your devices reconnect and the app really should not have a problem Groups wise. If it does then you will just have to rebuild it all on your phone app.

Also if you are not aware EE Linked below and were your hub is heading.

EE Hub firmware versions - The EE Community

FW: r4.29.1-R-1930437-PROD-1 and the gui is at App Version 3.14.5 27/07/2026
FW: r5.16.1-R-2011329-PROD-1 and the gui is at App Version 3.17.5 20/08/2026

XRaySpeX
EE Community Star
EE Community Star

@Marus wrote:

I did choose to backup the router when I installed the app


You couldn't! The SH 7 Pro has no Backup/Restore facilities other than contact lists on the DV side.

If you think I helped please feel free to hit the "Thumbs Up" button below.

To phone EE CS: Dial Freephone +44 800 079 8586 - Option 1 for Home Broadband & Home Phone or Option 2 for Mobile Phone & Mobile Broadband

ISPs: 1999: Freeserve 48K Dial-Up > 2005: Wanadoo 1 Meg BB > 2007: Orange 2 Meg BB > 2008: Orange 8 Meg LLU > 2010: Orange 16 Meg LLU > 2011: Orange 20 Meg WBC > 2014: EE 20 Meg WBC > 2020: EE 40 Meg FTTC > 2022:EE 80 Meg FTTC SoGEA > 2025 EE 150 Meg FTTP
Marus
Valued Contributor
Valued Contributor

If I delete the app and then install it again I go through the setup, when I get to connecting to the router I am asked if I want to backup or restore the hub settings.
This is only offered once each fresh install of the app.

Or at lease it did last time I did this about 6 months ago.