24-10-2026 10:28 PM - edited 24-10-2026 10:51 PM
I have got a Bt smart hub 2 and I can’t sign
into it. Using Mac book keeps saying unsafe
connection, use https which I have tried but
it does not work. Bt instructions how to bypass
the warning. Safari select show details/ select
visit website/,confirm by selecting vist website.
cant find how to do that? And just tried
my ee app on my iPhone broadband hub
settings that says unable to connect at the
Moment
24-10-2026 11:08 PM - edited 24-10-2026 11:10 PM
You are logging to your BT Smart Hub 2 at http://192.168.1.254 with the admin password on the bottom of the slider label on the back of the router? Using it on EE BB shouldn't make any diff.
24-10-2026 11:25 PM - edited 24-10-2026 11:28 PM
@Bluesriff7 Don't use safari as your browser, or bypass the security on it.
Solved: Log on to bt hub - The EE Community
Security warning when accessing the Hub Manager | Broadband | BT Help
24-10-2026 11:45 PM
I have tried that, justs says use https
24-10-2026 11:46 PM
@Bluesriff7 Not the last time i logged onto one in April. It was still http://192.168.1.254 at that time.
You've done this dance before.
24-10-2026 11:51 PM
I use safari then go into settings and it gives the
option to set the browser to use
i use duck duck go.
25-10-2026 11:36 AM
@Bluesriff7 , have you tried another browser to see if the same thing happens?
25-10-2026 12:07 PM
I phoned 150 today agent reset hub but still had the same issue, she has now passed it over to
technical department , should get a reply in 3 days
ps did try another browser Microsoft edge issue was still the same
25-10-2026 06:07 PM
The problem is that HTTPS uses a registered digital certificate to check with an external authority that the site is genuine and then encrypt the connection.
Unfortunately, in this case it uses an internal certificate, (to save money). This still allows the connection to be encrypted BUT it is not recognised by the external authority and so it can’t check the site is genuine. This is why it gives you all kinds of warnings about it being a risky connection.
The good news is that you know it is genuine, as it is your own router, so there is no risk in overriding the warning.
Somewhere on that page, in the fine print, it will give you the option to proceed to the site. (Even if it does warn of all kinds of doom should you do so). It may call it something like "Advanced settings". Just click it and proceed to the site.