cancel
Showing results for 
Show  only  | Search instead for 
Did you mean: 

Broadband renewal

Theguru1
Investigator
Investigator

My Broadband & Phone is up for renewal we have ADSL 72mb and to be honest the router i(black one) sub-par always has been to the point i had to get a second router to get a better signal..getting better speeds! tried all the channels etc still slow speeds..

Now if i renew can i get a new router is the white one better?? we cant get full fibre yet...is the white one only for full fibre? or can i get it??

5 REPLIES 5
Chris_B
Grand Master
Grand Master

@Theguru1  have you tried relocating the router away from any electrical source If it’s near one?  I never had  an issue when I had one of these 

Theguru1
Investigator
Investigator

Thanks but i tested it right next to it...lol..on my third party router i get around 5.8-6.1MB on the EE router its 3-5mb its stable at times but slows down...

I work in IT so i have tried  anything it...Last year they mentioned about swapping he channels and trying different ports it worked for a bit and went slow again..

I had a second router spare and that works fine but of course having two routers seems a bit silly lol..now its up for renewal i was just wondering about getting a new white router as part of the deal..

oh i have moved as well no different..The speeds disconnects sometimes aswell on the EE when my daughter plays online games...

@Theguru1   your posts are very confusing.

You say you are on ADSL, but get 72mb - ADSL only goes up to 24Mbps

You are mixing MB and mb Megabits and Megabytes.

You do not say which black router.

The white router will not give you higher speeds, that is down to the distance you are from the exchange, and the quality of the modem and internal wiring.

WiFi speeds inside your property are your responsibility and can be affected by many things including building material and distance from the router - but also distance from the exchange.