cancel
Showing results for 
Show  only  | Search instead for 
Did you mean: 

EE FTTP 900 Issues

ckent2014
Investigator
Investigator

2 months in to my new fttp connection and I have found EE don't have a clue well at least customer service. speeds expected are gigabit DL and 110 UL 

I was sent a nice white router small round light in the middle.

then the problems started! There seems to be some throughput issue for customers i could get more than 420 DL and 55 UL customer service said there is no issue open reach came back and the light values for fibre are good.

I do some digging and my line is being throttled I tell EE they say impossible  they then check again after saying im a network engineer and recognise the behaviour they then admit the shading value is wrong on my connection after 20 mins on hold.

I've now fixed my issues by purchasing a gigabit switch and a access point (wifi 6) and adding pppoe and dhcp to my switch (mikrotik) 

ee changed the shading value but still my connection was low ive taken ee hardware out and now im getting between 890-910 UL and a consistent 110DL every time.

so if your struggling check shading value with customer service ive fixed my own problem but ee need to fix this issue @myee 

6 REPLIES 6
XRaySpeX
Grand Master
Grand Master

If by putting your own kit in you are getting the correct speeds, how can some setting at ISP's end be affecting anything and the line be throttled? At worst it was an EE router issue. 

If you think I helped please feel free to hit the "Thumbs Up" button below.

To phone EE CS: Dial Freephone +44 800 079 8586 - Option 1 for Mobile Phone & Mobile Broadband or Option 2 for Home Broadband & Home Phone

ISPs: 1999: Freeserve 48K Dial-Up => 2005: Wanadoo 1 Meg BB => 2007: Orange 2 Meg BB => 2008: Orange 8 Meg LLU => 2010: Orange 16 Meg LLU => 2011: Orange 20 Meg WBC => 2014: EE 20 Meg WBC => 2020: EE 40 Meg FTTC => 2022: EE 80 Meg FTTC (no landline number)
pip11
Scholarly Contributor