cancel
Showing results for 
Show  only  | Search instead for 
Did you mean: 

Not Sure What I'm Doing Wrong

Azura
Investigator
Investigator

I'm very new to mobile phones (so please keep this in mind if giving me any advice - speak to me like I'm stupid) but thought I'd better get one as back up, for when landline is migrated to VOIP.

So I bought just a basic phone, (as only need to call and text) - Nokia 105 last week and bought a £20 subscription pack from EE. The bars which show reception are good and there are no problems with status - I checked. But it's a terrible line, keeps cutting out and I can only hear a few words out of every sentence, when I'm trying to talk to people. 

My daughter is with EE also and I tried her phone (also a basic one) and the line was clear - this was in the same place I'd been sitting, just 5 minutes after I had used mine, to the same person (on their landline). Went back to mine again (same place, same time, same person) - same terrible line. 

I thought Nokia phones were good, so I'm not sure what I'm doing wrong. The bars which show signal are mostly full - so I don't think it's that. I have no idea. Not sure whether to buy a more expensive phone but, if I keep having the same problem - then it would be a waste of money, that I can't afford. But my daughter's phone is a cheap one (LG) and is working fine. 

Really grateful for any suggestions. 

6 REPLIES 6
Christopher_G
EE Community Support Team

Hi @Azura 

Welcome to the community. We'll do our best to help. 🙂

Is it the 4G version of the Nokia 105 that you have? How is the coverage when you check your postcode on our coverage checker?

What kind of phone does your daughter use?

Chris

bristolian
Legend
Legend

Try swapping SIMs between your 2 phones, so your daughter's SIM in your phone, and your SIM in your daughter's phone - see if the issue follows the SIM or remains with the phone.