cancel
Showing results for 
Show  only  | Search instead for 
Did you mean: 

Getting charged for an account that's not mine.

Spikusminimus
Investigator
Investigator

Hi there,

I'm on here as a last resort because I've just discovered that I have been paying for an EE mobile account that is not mine.  EE claim that I ordered a SIM card but I definitely did not and the number they claim it relates to has never been activated or used.  However, I was still billed monthly and have racked up over £300 charges!  The EE fraud team refuse to investigate claiming there is no fraud being committed as my name is on the account.  How can I have an EE account that I have no knowledge of and be held accountable for charges for no service requested or delivered.   If I cancel the account EE say they will go through debt recovery  - this is a nightmare and is making me ill.

9 REPLIES 9
Katie_B
EE Community Support Team

Good afternoon @Spikusminimus

Welcome to the community. 

Is the outstanding balance due to missed monthly payments?

Was any more information provided by the fraud team?

Speak soon, 

Katie

Spikusminimus
Investigator
Investigator

Hi Katie,

The account was not set up by me although it was set up in my name.  It wasn't until last month that I discovered that I had been paying a monthly direct debit of £12.62 per month since 29/01/2021.  I stopped the direct debit with the bank and EE then threatened me with debt recovery.

The fraud team have said that there was no ID fraud but have given no further information on their investigation.

If I did not set up the account how did EE get my bank details and set up a direct debit without my authority?  Surely that's fraud!

Shane

Leanne_T

Hi @Spikusminimus 

I am very sorry to hear this has happened. 

Have you ever had an EE account? 

Was the address the SIM card was sent to your address? 

Thanks. 

Leanne.

Hi Leanne,