Landline fault

Gentiene
Investigator
Investigator

I have no dial tone and my phone display is saying check phone line. I also have no broadband. How do I report a fault on the BT landline? BT keep sending me back to EE but I think it’s the incoming landline at fault. Sorry, I’m not tech savvy at all! Thanks everyone.

19 REPLIES 19
XRaySpeX
Grand Master
Grand Master

You have EE BB hosted on a BT landline? That's the trouble when you have that. Both suppliers blame each other.

Usually when the phone down the BB still works but at a much slower speed. However in your case you have no BB. So I'd 1st concentrate on the BB by reporting a BB fault to EE by texting HELP followed by your landline number to 60071.

You could confirm that you have no BB at all by checking in the router whether you have BB speeds but no Internet. Which router have you?

OTOH: As BB is dependant on having a connected landline in the 1st place you could chivvy BT to get that working w/out mentioning BB at all.

If you think I helped please feel free to hit the "Thumbs Up" button below.

To phone EE CS: Dial Freephone +44 800 079 8586 - Option 1 for Mobile Phone & Mobile Broadband or Option 2 for Home Broadband & Home Phone

ISPs: 1999: Freeserve 48K Dial-Up => 2005: Wanadoo 1 Meg BB => 2007: Orange 2 Meg BB => 2008: Orange 8 Meg LLU => 2010: Orange 16 Meg LLU => 2011: Orange 20 Meg WBC => 2014: EE 20 Meg WBC => 2020: EE 40 Meg FTTC => 2022: EE 80 Meg FTTC (no landline number)

Thanks X Ray… I think it’s def a fault with the BT incoming line as I have no dial tone on the phone and the phone’s display is telling me to check the phone line. Not sure what router I have but it’s the ultra fast one. It’s very annoying as you say, they don’t tell you that it’s going to be complicated to fix when you have split providers! 

When you speak to BT do not mention broadband, just your phone is not working.