cancel
Showing results for 
Show  only  | Search instead for 
Did you mean: 

No 5G connection with D-Link DWR-2101

clegginabox
Investigator
Investigator

I've got an unlimited business data SIM that I've been using for several months in a TP-Link Archer (4G). Recently 5G antennas have been installed outside on the street.

Today I recieved my D-Link DWR-2101

https://eu.dlink.com/uk/en/products/dwr-2101-5g-wifi-6-mobile-hotspot

The D-Link cannot find a 5G connection, I've even taken it out onto the street and stood near one of the antennas. 4G however works fine.

I have an iPhone 12 also on EE.

Both the data sim and my personal sim can connect to 5G on my iPhone, neither SIM gets a 5G connection on the D-Link.

Am I missing some configuration setting or is the D-Link router not compatible with EE's 5G network?

Cheers

18 REPLIES 18
Chris_B
Grand Master
Grand Master

@clegginabox  The router does support the bandwidth that EE uses for 5G.   EE uses N78 and that’s listed in the device specs. 

0659F317-BC14-4D0F-A7C3-0E54591ADF6D.jpeg

mikeliuk
Ace Contributor
Ace Contributor

Hi @clegginabox ,

Have you checked the manual to see if you can force a 5G connection? It may be falling back to 4G for whatever reason.

Have you consider contacting the manufacturer's technical support department?

I'm quite interested in how this device functions with EE as I'm in the market for a 5G router

-- 
Contract SIM: Plan | Data | Usage | Check Status | Abroad | Chat | SMS | APN | PM
Wired: Check Speed | Test Socket | Faults | fast.com | speedtest.net

@mikeliuk you cannot force a 5G connection On to stop it from falling back to 4G on a 5G NSA Network, which EE is, if the Router allows you to do this it will be for SA use Only which in EE current Network will result in a No Network Signal Status.

@clegginabox some 5G Routers can work different to Phone Signal information with regards to reporting a 5G NR Connection.