cancel
Showing results for 
Show  only  | Search instead for 
Did you mean: 

Switching to EE from BT.

gigantojim
Investigator
Investigator

Hi. I’ve just ordered EE broadband, the full fibre 900 one. I’m currently with BT.

My activation date is set for the 24th of October.

My question is when will my BT internet get switched off? Will it be seamless from one to the other, or will BT cut me off before the EE one starts, so I’ll be without internet for days or whatever?

I checked the faq’s and googled it etc but couldn’t find an answer. I’ve never done this before so I don’t know.

Thanks

James

1 SOLUTION

Accepted Solutions

@gigantojim  with the older ADSL/FTTC services the losing provider would switch off the service in the early hours, the new provider would switch the service on - usually by lunchtime, but they would say anytime up to midnight.

However EE have recently aligned their broadband services a lot closer to BT, the routers even now use the same default BT username. Not sure how the FTTP change differs, but it would not surprise me if you even saw a loss of service - worse case it might be out of a few hours at most.

Let us know when the time comes.

View solution in original post

11 REPLIES 11
XRaySpeX
Grand Master
Grand Master

If you don't have Full Fibre already with BT, you will need to cancel your BT BB yourself.

If you think I helped please feel free to hit the "Thumbs Up" button below.

To phone EE CS: Dial Freephone +44 800 079 8586 - Option 1 for Mobile Phone & Mobile Broadband or Option 2 for Home Broadband & Home Phone

ISPs: 1999: Freeserve 48K Dial-Up => 2005: Wanadoo 1 Meg BB => 2007: Orange 2 Meg BB => 2008: Orange 8 Meg LLU => 2010: Orange 16 Meg LLU => 2011: Orange 20 Meg WBC => 2014: EE 20 Meg WBC => 2020: EE 40 Meg FTTC => 2022: EE 80 Meg FTTC (no landline number)

No, EE cancel it for you. I already have the same thing with BT too. It’s  just cheaper with EE and you get the WiFi 6 router.