Show  only  | Search instead for 
Did you mean: 

EE smarthub plus and TP deco Mesh

Stamfordgarden
Investigator
Investigator

Hi

I am new to EE broadband

I have a FTTP fibre 67 service with an EE smarthub plus and a landline service (home phone adapter) but my long thin house with thick interior walls suffers poor wifi coverage☹️  (and physically relocating the router is  a problem)

A friend has offered a TP deco X60 mesh router 3 pack (very good price 2nd hand) and wondered how I can use this to replace the smarthub3 but keep the digital landline whilst eliminating my coverage dead spots

Is this possible and has anyone else used a 3rd party mesh router and kept digital voice?

@XRaySpeX  (good answers and knowledge for other problems)

@Mustrum (good answers and knowledge for other problems)

1 SOLUTION

Accepted Solutions

@Stamfordgarden  that does not sound unreasonable - you mention ATA, but not sure if you mean the Digital Phone socket or you are connecting your phone another way? 

But other than switching the WiFi off on the SH I would leave it as is.

For the Mesh, if you set it with another IP range you can use it in Router mode - otherwise AP mode will use the SH ip range and DHCP..

But give it a go and see how you get on.

View solution in original post

10 REPLIES 10
Stamfordgarden
Investigator
Investigator

Sorry meant FTTC fibre 67

@Stamfordgarden  alas EE (and many other) Digital Voice needs the EE router to work.

In theory it should be possible to connect an ATA to any router, but EE(BT) have kept their settings hidden from the public to ensure their routers are used.

That said, you could connect the mesh up as an access point, or even a secondary router and run your network from your mesh system. Much will depend on what you are using it for and if your apps can cope with double NAT - an issue for gaming users I believe.

HTH.

XRaySpeX
Grand Master
Grand Master