by nekromantik Established Contributor
Established Contributor

Developer Annoyed at EE

Hi

I am a developer and purchased Google Pixel 2 XL from EE.

However found out just like Pixel 1 last year EE locks the bootloader and you cannot unlock it for 6 months!

I do not want to unlock sim I just need bootloader unlocked so I can do some work on the phone. I do not understand why EE dont give option to pay higher fee to unlock it early. Like 1 month after purchase. Or unlock it so we can unlock bootloader then relock the sim card only so you still cant use other sims.

8 REPLIES 8
by Brilliant Contributor
Brilliant Contributor

Re: Developer Annoyed at EE

Because you are buying from a network who are protecting themselves from people who try to unlock bootloader and mess it up and then that customer expecting EE to fix it when it will just void warranty.

If you wanted to use it for development purposes you should have bought direct from Google.

BrendonH (Android Expert) Samsung Galaxy S10+ (Pie 9.0)
If I have helped please click the THUMB/SOLUTION buttons below
Established Contributor

Thats not true, the 6 month rule is to protect EE from people selling the phone after upgrading. 

Most Android phones from EE can be unlocked anytime like Sony or Huwawi.

by Grand Master
Grand Master

If you didn't buy it outright but on contract, EE own it for the 1st 6 months & you may not make any changes to it during that period. Getting mobiles from a network is not suitable for development.

Anyway you knew this was gonna happen from your experience last time. You went into this with your eyes open. Why complain now?

__________________________________________________________________________________________
If you think I helped please feel free to hit the "Thumbs Up" button below.

To phone EE: The local rate landline number +44 207 362 0200 or Freephone +44 800 079 8586 - Option 1 for Mobiles; Option 2 for 4G WiFi; Option 3 for Home Broadband & EE TV.