by Me62 Contributor
Contributor

Will 4GEE Essential deal work on my old Nokia 6070

Help would be greatly appreciated please as at 74 years I am not good at technology (took me ages to get into this forum and I am not sure that it is even the correct one!)  I have an old Nokia 6070 and wonder if I can get 4GEE Essenial deal sim to use in it.  I only want to make phone calls and send the odd text or two (I do not want to access the internet).  Do EE do anything less like a 3GEE - have tried to find out on their web site but it is impossible to contact them and when live chat option comes on it does not work for me.  Up until now I have just purchased top up vouchers but now that I have ditched my land line I am finding that too expensive.  Will I need to purchase a new  mobile phone?  

18 REPLIES 18
by Grand Master
Grand Master

Re: Will 4GEE Essential deal work on my old Nokia 6070

@Me62  All of EE plans are 4G but if the device can not receive 4G it will just use 3G etc.   And providing the device is unlocked you can use the EE sim on the plan you choose in that device.  

by Me62 Contributor
Contributor

Thanks for your answer.  My phone was an Orange and I now purchase top up EE vouchers so I assume that an EE sim will fit and my mobile will not need to be unlocked.  Am I correct please?

by Grand Master
Grand Master

4G SIMs will still work on lower grade phones; they just downgrade themselves.

Do you really need an EE Essentials contract? The main benefit of contracts is the largeish data allowance they give you but you don't seem to need that. Any idea of what your monthly usage of calls & texts would be?

You say you have been topping-up regularly but now find that expensive. So you have been on PAYG. Did you buy regular monthly packs or did you just pay for calls & texts as you went along?

You may find that a PAYG SIM with a regular monthly pack would be more suitable to you.