Highlighted
by Techo Investigator
Investigator

SIM card locked back into ORANGE 6 months after switch from Orange to EE

Hi,

I am on a pay-as-you-go plan. I was switched from Orange to EE last year, and all worked well until Friday the 1st of February. I can only make Emergency calls, and cannot send texts or make calls, nor receive calls. As a disabled person, this is a disaster, since I rely on the phone a lot to call taxis, friends for help. I teach from home and the nuber is used to communicate with my pupils.

I did ring EE and was told that my SIM card had locked itself back into Orange. That it might take a day or two to get the servide back. But the service has not been restored. I spoke again to an EE person yesterday - I spend hours on the phone trying to get this sorted - but still no success. 

The EE staff sent me an EE Sim Card now, with instructions, but I am not very good at these things, and the EE sim card is rather flimsy and I worry that the chip will fall out.

I also need to move all phone numbers currently on the Orange sim card over to the phone.

I also had the problem a previous user mentioned - my Orange plan had not been moved across to EE for a while and I kept topping up after just two calls. The staff kindly refunded what I had lost, and yesterday, I also got my credit doubled (not much, since I only had 15 pounds on it).

But none of this is making me feel confident about continuing with EE, to be honest. I feel like changing provider. What do I need to do to get my number unlocked so that I can switch?

I just want information, not action - especially none without talking to me first.

I should be very grateful if you could give me some answer that I could be happy with.

I still cannot understand why the card got locked back to Orange in the first place, and why it could not be unlocked and put back to EE within a day. One of the answers I got was that it had to do with the snow.....