by RayAl
Explorer

Studying in China for one year – using my iPhone

I was hoping someone can help. I have a UK EE pay-monthly contract on an iPhone that runs until December 2019. In July 2019, I am studying in China for one year and trying to understand how to use my phone without running up huge bills.

All I can find through EE is a roaming call/receiving charge of £1.80 per minute. Also, £180 per month for data (30 days of data passes at £6). That's ok if you're Tim Cook, but I can't afford it.

Should I just pay my monthly EE bill and then also buy a Chinese SIM card when I arrive?

I would appreciate some advice.

5 REPLIES 5
by Grand Master
Grand Master

Re: Studying in China for one year – using my iPhone

Yes, that's the best thing to do. Make sure you get your phone unlocked before you go.

__________________________________________________________________________________________
If you think I helped please feel free to hit the "Thumbs Up" button below.

To phone EE: The local rate landline number +44 207 362 0200 or Freephone +44 800 079 8586 - Option 1 for Mobiles; Option 2 for 4G WiFi; Option 3 for Home Broadband & EE TV.

ISPs: 1999: Freeserve 48K Dial-Up => 2005: Wanadoo 1 Meg BB => 2007: Orange 2 Meg BB => 2008: Orange 8 Meg LLU => 2010: Orange 16 Meg LLU => 2011: Orange 20 Meg WBC => 2014: EE 20 Meg WBC
by
EE Community Support Team

Good Morning @RayAl.

Welcome to the community.

China sounds really exciting! 🙂

We have a roaming costs page which also gives you the cost of bundles to use in China.

Alternatively, as @XRaySpeX has suggested, you could unlock your phone.

I know you're not going for a while yet, but I hope you have a great time!

Jon

by RayAl
Explorer

Hi Jon

Thanks for your reply. Yes’m I’m really looking forward to my study year in China. 

I think I’m all clear now on how to manage my phone charges while in China. The phone unlocking is also a great idea. 

Thanks again. 

by Grand Master
Grand Master