by Tempy Investigator
Investigator

Can Someone explain Cancellation ?

I'm an Overseas MA student and expected to finish my course in September. 

However, I was lucky enough to get a placement outside of the EU that begins in June. I will be leaving the EU on the 29th of May, and My contract ends on the 18th of September  (last payment on the 28th of August). All the charges I am being quoted when I call in to give 30 days notice now cost more than if I were to keep my bill and pay month to month until August.  ( around 135£ to cancel it would be 104 if I paid per usual).  When I searched for cancellation fees on EE's website nothing could explain why it would cost more than my standard billing. The website seemed to imply it would be less. The Reps on the phone when I called just said that the computer automatically calculates it and couldn't explain to me the fees ( or maybe I just wasn't understanding).

I want to understand what's the best and cheapest way for me to move forward. I am concerned that if I wait to August  16th  or 19th to cancel ( the 18th is a Sunday), I will run into more issues, that I won't be able to address as I will be making an expensive phone call from overseas. If something does go wrong, I won't know until my UK bank sends me a notice of being overdrawn or something.

14 REPLIES 14
by
EE Community Support Team

Re: Can Someone explain Cancellation ?

Hi and welcome to the community, @Tempy.

Congratulations on the placement, whereabouts are you off to? 😄

Do you have any monthly discounts on your bill? You can check your bills in your My EE account.

Chris

by Grand Master
Grand Master

They told you wrong. Your Early Cancellation Fees, after the 30 days notice, will always be 20% less than had you stayed until the end of your contract term on 18 Sept.

EE don't charge VAT on Early Cancellation Fees, so that's 16.67% off. On top of that they take off anorher 4% for paying it promptly upfront, as you have to do.