by maggiep163 Investigator
Investigator

my fibre download speed is between 6 and 14 according to various checkers. Help?

I expected much faster download speeds when moving to fibre, but according to the EE BT checkers am only getting around 6mbps download, other checkers suggest around 14mbps. None of these come close to the advertised 'up to 38mbps'. I'm not very technical, can anyone help?

24 REPLIES 24
by Grand Master
Grand Master

Re: my fibre download speed is between 6 and 14 according to various checkers. H

@maggiep163  Have you tried just restarting the router?  Turn it off for 30+ seconds and then reboot it. 

by Grand Master
Grand Master

Re: my fibre download speed is between 6 and 14 according to various checkers. H

Welcome to EE's Home Broadband Forum.

If you would like help with your BB speed or connection issues, please would you carry out the following steps for starters, which will enable us to diagnose the problem and advise you further. Do not restart your router to do these tests:

1. Post your full router stats.

For a BrightBox: login and go to Advanced Settings/ System/ DSL Status. Also post 'System Uptime' from top of System Log page.

For a SmartHub: login and go to Advanced Settings/ Technical Log/ Information.

Full router stats are key to any speed & connection issues.

2. Try a wired speedtest, using an Ethernet cable supplied with the router, here http://www.thinkbroadband.com/speedtest.html . Click on the "Results Page" button at the bottom of the graph you first see and then copy to here just the "Link to this result:" link that you see below the next main graph.

3. What exchange are you connected to? If you don't know use: http://www.samknows.com/broadband/exchange_search and post the URL of your exchange page.