by Sharm Valued Contributor
Valued Contributor

Will EE charge me for an engineer to come to my house?

Yeah so, been an EE customer for donkeys years, moved from fibre to fibre +

Long story short, I work as a network/infrastructre engineer, I know my stuff, but clearly BT/EE don't they are telling me if's and this and that, none of them can get their story straight.

Now I KNOW my setup is correct, I've just a brand new BB2 from EE, switched my old one out, now previous to this the day I switched from Fibre to + my downstream rate decreased by 5mb, so I was on 27.5mb/s dsr before even switching my router out, on the 30th I dropped from that to 22mb/s downrate, my up however has increased from the 10mb/s to 17/s.

Now I asked if I was banded on a profile first time, clueless, I asked a 2nd time on the 10th, they said I might be, I asked today, they said I wasn't...get it straight man?

Now last tuesday one of the EE contracted engineers came to my house, checked my setup, said everything was good, made him sign a paper and videoed that my set up is correct, you know because I actually have been CHARGED before for exactly the same thing, being told that there is no fault in my house it lies outside but still getting CHARGED

So, did some research and within BT's call out charge small text, it says that if no fault is found within my own premisis that I will be charged...but that doesn't make sense because if you're saying that there is no fault in my property, no fault on the line, the hell is my speed gone then? What the magic leprecaun comes into my house and caps my speed to poverty line internet speeds?

In any case I've been telling them over and over these people are thick as thieves running from the met police.

My router stats here.

INTERNET Broadband Type Fibre Broadband State Connected Internet State Connected Time Connected 24:10:32 Downstream Rate 22.40 Mbps Upstream Rate 16.49 Mbps