by cylonrouter Contributor
Contributor

Why am I get lag spikes (high ping) every 2 minutes?

Hi all, I'm new to EE and the website is apparently down (can't login) so I thought I'd ask a question here.

I've come from TalkTalk and had no problems there but was on a slow ADSL plan.

I'm on Fibre (FTTC) at ~37Mbps (give or take); speed appears to be relatively consistent and is as expected much higher than previous service. Cabinet is about 5m (yes five metres) away; exchange is Newport Savoy.

However, ping (latentcy) is spiking severely on a schedule. We play some online games and this is making them unplayable - for example CSGO we're getting 70ms pings as baseline which is a little higher than before but within acceptable bounds. But every 2 minutes (exactly, 120s, AFAICT) the ping spikes to anything from 250ms to 1000ms causing rubber-banding, and whatever.

I've tested a few different servers using MTR (and a couple of other ways) and run against non-gaming servers such as bbc.co.uk and OpenDNS, ee.co.uk. All destinations have the same lag spikes.

Clearly this isn't an internal issue or there would have been problems with ADSL before.

Smarthub v0.00.14.52013-EE

Noise margin (up/down):14.8 / 8.2
Line attenuation (up/down):12.8 / 13.4
Signal attenuation (up/down):12.8 / 13.5

Any suggestions, or do I need to revert to my former service provider. The new speed is great, but inability to play online games is contrary to our expectations for even the most basic broadband service.

This image shows a typical MTR (as it happens for a CSGO server) note the nominal ping is ~35ms but it peaks at over 1500ms; also note the equally spaced repetition.

[Side note - the "Rich Text" comment box is a nightmare to try and paste anything in to.]Screenshot_20180627_031116__small.png

2 REPLIES 2
by
EE Community Support Team

Re: Why am I get lag spikes (high ping) every 2 minutes?

Good Morning @cylonrouter

Thanks for coming to the community.