by beth17
Explorer

Android OS has eaten my data

Hi i am hoping someone can help me with the following. Today out of the blue i got a warning that my data limit had been used up which i was sure was wrong as it was only just reset to 1gb. Upon looking at my data usage i was shocked to see it says Android OS 0.90gb. I am not tech savvy and someone said its to do with apps running in the background. I have never gone over my data and this problem only occurred today and ive tried googling it to find a solution as someone has  said this problem will keep happening and im not having much luck can anyone help please. the phone i have is a Galaxy S6. Thanks in advance. 

4 REPLIES 4
by Grand Master
Grand Master

Re: Android OS has eaten my data

Configure your phone to:

• Only do Software Update over WiFi.
  • Restrict background data.
__________________________________________________________________________________________
If you think I helped please feel free to hit the "Thumbs Up" button below.

To phone EE: The local rate landline number +44 207 362 0200 or Freephone +44 800 079 8586 - Option 1 for Mobiles; Option 2 for 4G WiFi; Option 3 for Home Broadband & EE TV.

ISPs: 1999: Freeserve 48K Dial-Up => 2005: Wanadoo 1 Meg BB => 2007: Orange 2 Meg BB => 2008: Orange 8 Meg LLU => 2010: Orange 16 Meg LLU => 2011: Orange 20 Meg WBC => 2014: EE 20 Meg WBC
by
EE Community Support Team

Hello there @beth17

Thanks for posting.

If you can follow the below this will turn off the background apps for you.

• Go to Settings
  • Data Usage
  • Select the three dots at the top of the screen
  • Tap Auto Sync Data and tun Off.

Let me know how you get on 🙂

by beth17
Explorer