by morgannick2000 Investigator
Investigator

4GEE Router (200GB) - no static route options in config

Hi 4GEE experts...

I've been using 4G for my home broadband for a couple of years now. I currently have a Huawei B593 with a Poynting 4g Aerial, 2 4g SIMS 1x200GB and 1x64GB. Down speed around 35Mbps, up 20Mbps - so way better than the 0.8Mbps ADSL offers.

To ensure that I dont waste any valuable data I have created a piece of software to control each individual devices quota, DNS settings, dhcp etc. This runs on a Raspberry Pi and acts as a router infront of the 4G router. This can be configured to use NAT or act as router. Why? Well imagine a scenario that an Xbox tries to donwload 60GB of data, this "device' stops it doing that and therefore preserving some data for the rest of the family.

HERE IS THE QUESTION:

As part of my new 200GB deal, I received the new 4GEE home router. Looking at it, it feels like Huawai could be the OEM. The problem I have with it is quite a simple one. I'd like to see an option for 'static routing' in the config panel.

Can you enable this please?

You're really limiting the possible use cases for you device by not having static routes available. Was that a conscious decision?

Thanks

Nick

31 REPLIES
by Grand Master
Grand Master

Re: 4GEE Router (200GB) - no static route options in config

Do you mean reserving fixed internal IP addys? If the MBB router does not have that in its DHCP there is nowt anyone can do to enable it on your router. You could always fix their IPs on individual devices themselves. There MBB routers are functionally weaker than real routers.

__________________________________________________________________________________________
If you think I helped please feel free to hit the "Star" button below.
To phone EE: The local rate landline number 0207 362 0200 or Freephone 0800 079 8586 - Option 1 for Mobiles; Option 2 for 4G WiFi; Option 3 for Home Broadband & EE TV.