by itskatelliott Investigator
Investigator

External Ip access to ssh server

Hi there

I'm a web developer, I frequently travel with my laptop and USB/Bluetooth tether my EE phone to provide internet access while I'm on the move.

I have recently found that when tethering I can no longer connect via SSH to access client servers (usually a fairly standard IP username / key / password combo) and I cannot access sites via IPv4 addresss (the sites I work on do not always have a domain assigned). In both instances there is a timeout as though the IP cannot be resolved or there is a firewall preventing connection.

I can access the sites via IPv4 on my phone no problem, and I can SSH to the servers fine on my laptop when connected via a different network e.g. my home/office broadband. I've disabled all firewalls on the machine. The issue is only present while I am trying to connect to sites on my laptop, while it is using my phone's internet connection.

I'm a bit stumped and would appreciate any ideas as I do need this to work.

cheers!

9 REPLIES 9
by Grand Master
Grand Master

Re: External Ip access to ssh server

You say you can no longer connect via SSH to access client servers. Does that mean you used to be able to do this over the EE mobile network?

__________________________________________________________________________________________
If you think I helped please feel free to hit the "Thumbs Up" button below.

To phone EE: The local rate landline number +44 207 362 0200 or Freephone +44 800 079 8586 - Option 1 for Mobiles; Option 2 for 4G WiFi; Option 3 for Home Broadband & EE TV.

ISPs: 1999: Freeserve 48K Dial-Up => 2005: Wanadoo 1 Meg BB => 2007: Orange 2 Meg BB => 2008: Orange 8 Meg LLU => 2010: Orange 16 Meg LLU => 2011: Orange 20 Meg WBC => 2014: EE 20 Meg WBC
Investigator

Yes that's right, I can't say exactly when I stopped being able to do it but I was definitely able to do so about a year ago whilst on holiday.

by Ace Contributor
Ace Contributor