EE Community

Contributor
tgoddard

Outgoing SMTP server for EE

Hi there

im new to EE, I have just transferred from Orange to EE.

I am having problems with setting up my email account.

I have spent days trying to sort out this problem so would be grateful for any response.

My main problem is that I am a tiscali email customer (now talk talk)

i have managed to set up my incoming mail settings to the following as per the talk talk web page and i am currently recieving incoming emails

incoming settings:

user name: my name @tiscali.co.uk

password: entered password

POP3. Server : pop3.tiscali.co.uk

Port:110

Security type: none

Now as far as i am aware talk talk do not allow you to use there smtp settings for when im not at home on my broadband which is with talk talk. So you need a third party smtp. ( when i was with orange, it was orange smtp) As far as i am aware after the constant phone calls and searching EE do not have their own outgoing server.

so i tried to still use orange which is accepted in settings but when i try and send an email it says connection error

SMTP server: smtp.orangehome.co.uk

Port: 587

Security type: none

Require sign in: unticked.

Please does anyone know why my phone Sony xperia sp accepts these outgoing settings but still will not allow outgoing emails, is it because i am with EE?

i have currently got my phone set up with gmail outgoing server and this works only problem is that my incoming are from my tiscali account and i am sending out through my gmail email account! Which is not ideal. 

I need them both to be sent and received from my tiscali account.

Please if anyone could help that will be great, I am pulling my hair out !!

thanks

Please use plain text.
Brilliant Contributor
Chester

Re: Outgoing SMTP server for EE

Your problem is that the SMTP server requires a secure authentication (login) before it will let you send an email.

The settings you need can be found here: